The Book of Revelation – The Seven Beatitudes Introduction

editor - 30 September 2019

We all know the Eight, or even Nine Beatitudes of Jesus recorded in the Gospel of Matthew, recounted by Jesus in the Sermon on the Mount,  and the Four Beatitudes followed by the Four Woes in the Gospel of Luke.

To refresh our memories: Matthew 5:3–12

  1. Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.
  2. Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.
  3. Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.
  4. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.
  5. Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
  6. Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.
  7. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.
  8. Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.
  9. Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in Heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.


The Four Beatitudes followed by the Four Woes in Luke 6:20–26 are:

  1. Blessed are you who are poor, for yours is the Kingdom of God.
  2. Blessed are you who hunger now, for you will be satisfied.
  3. Blessed are you who weep now, for you will laugh.
  4. Blessed are you when people hate you, when they exclude you and insult you and reject your name as evil, because of the Son of Man. Rejoice in that day and leap for joy, because great is your reward in Heaven. For that is how their ancestors treated the prophets.


The Four Woes that follow are:

  1. But woe to you who are rich, for you have already received your comfort.
  2. Woe to you who are well fed now, for you will go hungry.
  3. Woe to you who laugh now, for you will mourn and weep.
  4. Woe to you when everyone speaks well of you, for that is how their ancestors treated the false prophets.


These Woes are distinct from the Seven Woes of the Pharisees which appear later in Luke 11:37–54.

But we are probably less familiar with the Seven Beatitudes that we find in the Book of Revelation. Here they are:

  1. “Blessed is the one who reads aloud the words of this prophecy, and blessed are those who hear it and take to heart what is written in it, because the time is near.” Revelation 1:3
  2. Then I heard a voice from Heaven say, “Write this: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.” “Yes,” says the Spirit, “they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them.” Revelation 14:13
  3. “Look, I come like a thief! Blessed is the one who stays awake and remains clothed, so as not to go naked and be shamefully exposed.” Revelation 16:15
  4. Then the angel said to me, “Write this: Blessed are those who are invited to the wedding supper of the Lamb!” And he added, “These are the true words of God.” Revelation 19:9
  5. “Blessed and holy are those who share in the first resurrection. The second death has no power over them, but they will be priests of God and of Christ and will reign with Him for a thousand years.” Revelation 20:6
  6. “Look, I am coming soon! Blessed is the one who keeps the words of the prophecy written in this scroll.” Revelation 22:7
  7. “Look, I am coming soon! My reward is with Me, and I will give to each person according to what they have done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End. “Blessed are those who wash their robes, that they may have the right to the tree of life and may go through the gates into the City.” Revelation 22:12-14

We will go through them, one-by-one.

About the Author